I Shoulda Stayed in Bed

Standard

There are days like that and today is one of those days.  I can’t even go into detail about why today is the blowiest, suckiest of all days because it’s not my story to tell even though I’m one of the players.  So rather than dwell on why today is blowy and sucky (and I’m sorry for the inelegant prose) I’m going to play a game of Anywhere But Here.  Let’s see…I could be…

On a ship (see Dad, I called it a ship instead of a boat, aren’t you proud??) cruising to ports near lush tropical isles.  I am lounging in a deck chair by the pool, trashy/smutty book in one hand, and something alchololic and blue in the other.  With a teensy umbrella in it.  TWO teensy umbrellas.  There is a salty sea breeze blowing my hair around and a cover band playing some good Southern rock, just because that’s what I feel like listening to right now.  Tall, dark, and handsome pulls up the chair next to mine and in addition to being tall, dark and handsome, he’s also funny and smart and kinda nerdy and thinks I’m awesome…

Share your Anywhere But Here in the comments.  Or at least take a moment and help me wish mine into existence.  Consider it a public service.

6 responses »

  1. Greece. Sky’s as blue as it can be. I’m lying on the beach listening to all of the sounds around me, feeling the wind blowing, wafting my hair in the breeze. Sipping a glass of wine and soaking up all the atmosphere. And you’re there, too, so I am not quite sure how you can be on a ship heading to lush tropical isles and in Greece simultaneously, but hey–it’s anywhere but here, so let’s just go with it.

    Sorry you’re having a bad day. Love you!!!

  2. Yes, you may still have the smutty book, as long as it’s not 50 Shades of Horrible Fanfic Disguised as Erotica. And yes, you may have a blue beverage. Mine will be pinkish, and my book will probably be a horror or suspense thriller.

  3. I’d just as soon be right where I am, with my husband, books, and computer. I just wish my loved ones were here too. I don’t need a smutty book or a blue or pink beverage. A good book to read and review, a good cooky from the nearby Mexican bakery, and a glass of cold distilled water and I’m as happy as a clam, or would be if I would JUST STOP HURTING,which isn’t going to happen. My back is a solid mass of arthritis and there is nothing to do about it, but I’d still hurt if I were in Fort Worth or Mississippi or Longview or a tropical island, so I might as well hurt within reasonable walking distance (say, ten feet) of my bed.

Leave a Reply

